top of page

The Importance of Dreaming


When we were young kids, we had ample time to imagine and dream about being a doctor, a dancer, a musician, an astronaut, a fashion designer, or a firefighter. We had dolls or toys to play with, or coloring sheets. We talked about in school, with our parents, and with our extended family. We were always encouraged to dream about what we wanted our lives to be like.

When I was in high school, this time manifested itself into time spent in the shower every day thinking about my life. Throughout the day, I consistently thought of where I would rather be. Needless to say, high school wasn’t exactly my favorite time in life. But, it was this unhappiness that drove me to dream – it drove me to ask myself, where would I rather be? How can I get there?

Casey Neistat, a celebrity YouTuber and daily vlogger, talks about this in one of his vlogs. He talks about how, when he was in a very unhappy time in life, he dedicated all his time to dreaming about what would make him happy. I think that, as we get older and acquire more responsibilities, we lose the luxury of dream time – and I’m not talking about sleeping. We forget to set aside time to just think about our goals, aspirations, and big dreams. Dreaming keeps us motivated, helping us push forward, progress, grow, and achieve more. I also think that, as we learn more about the world and the way stuff works, it’s way easier to get discouraged from following our dreams. We get caught up in every small step, and then our goals look impossible.

I've come to realize, though, that I need to make dreaming a priority. I am young, and I have a whole life ahead of me - but instead of dreaming up possibilites for my life, I am caught up in paying bills, and worrying about my career. I want to spend more time this year dreaming of the life that I want to make a reality. I've shown myself time and time again that if I put my mind to a goal, I can accomplish it. So what an I accomplish next? I will only realize this once I start to dream about all the possibilities.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Social
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • steller icon.png
bottom of page